Day 87: 7/4/14, Tourist Take 2

Happy 4th of July! This is the second year in a row that I’m missing the traditional holiday celebration, but I confess I can’t be too sad (despite really really wanting some of my family’s potato salad) in such surroundings! Last year I was hiking out of Duncannon PA and remember hearing fireworks in the distance as I laid in my tent that night, with a winking display of fireflies providing much hiker entertainment. It was a very hot and humid day, and the infamous rocky section of PA had just begun. I was hiking solo while Blackhawk took a vacation from the trail, but certainly wasn’t alone with everyone out for day hikes and overnights on the AT. It seems like yesterday, not a full year, so funny how that happens.

Today it didn’t take much for me to decide to take a second zero – Firestarter and Car Burglar seemed to be leaning that way as well and we all decided to go into the valley for the afternoon. The opportunity to do laundry along with the fact my knee felt a little twingy still, made my decision a fairly easy one.

This morning at the Tuolumne Store I met Aidan and Jodie, who recognized me from this blog! Jodie, I’m so happy you came up to say hi, it was great to meet you. I hope you both have a FANTASTIC time on the JMT :). Their blog is: Lead a Life Uncommon

Time sped by in the valley, as it did yesterday. Any future Yosemite goers, give yourselves enough time! It would be easy to spend several days or a week here, especially with a family. The crowds were bigger today, but not horrific until late in the afternoon on the packed to the gills shuttle buses when I was trying to get back to catch the YART bus back to Tuolumne Meadows. Despite some hassle with the shower being closed for cleaning the entire time I was there, I did laundry (ahhhh, clean clothes! I think I’m reaching a new low when not having a shower in 5 days during quite hot weather is no longer that important) after having lunch with Cat Burgler and Firestarter. I also checked out the interpretative displays in the visitor’s center and other places, yea for interpretive displays, second only to maps for me ;).

Another great group of hikers at the campground tonight – PCTers, JMTers, and even some folks starting the High Sierra cross country route tomorrow, so awesome. Hiking out tomorrow morning after getting some breakfast sandwiches at the grill – ahhh, town food!

Cat Burglar and Firestarter on the YART bus

20140712-091557-33357149.jpg
Jodie and Aiden at the start of their JMT hike!

20140712-091555-33355842.jpg

Leave a Reply

