Day 123: 8/9/14, PCT Milemarker 2355.5

Miles hiked: 19.4
Cumulative PCT miles: 1398.1
Camped at: close to Urich Camp cabin

Happy trailversary to me! 4 months since I began the PCT, and 2 since I started the Sierra after my Wellness Period – how time flies!

Last night was clear and cold, and for the first time in ages I wore my down jacket, good to use it for something other than to supplement my pillow! The moon shown brightly and I could easily see my breath when I got up in the middle of the night to water the leaves. Or, sand, as the case might be :). A benefit of the cold temps the last few mornings (and evenings) is that the bugs are not much in evidence, hooray!

I felt lethargic most of the day, owing completely to the fact that for a second evening in a row (truly silly of me) I stayed up long past hiker midnight reading. Tonight I don’t think I’ll be able to keep my eyes open that long, I truly hope the weekenders at the nearby public cabin are quiet at a reasonable hour. I’m camping tucked away in the woods close to the cabin and stream – I didn’t want to hike another 5 miles to a known campsite, or really go much further as there are several dirt roads coming up, and I try to avoid camping near roads when I’m solo. Plus, there’s a privy for the morning – it’s the little things!

Today’s hike was lovely and luckily for my low energy level pretty easy ridge walking and some forest walking at the end of the day. There were some awesome ice cold springs, always a treat. I listened to an audio book for the first time while hiking this afternoon, and I think I’m hooked – really diverting! As well as a nice change from music. I met a northbound thru today named Late Night and saw him several times, but as his name implies he hikes until he can’t see the trail any longer so I doubt I’ll see him until town, if he stays over. Otherwise I met several weekenders early in the day and at the end, along with a southbound section hiker who I chatted with for a bit. This seems to be a pretty popular section of trail with locals, which I’m always happy to see.

New animal spot: goats!! Granted, far off in the distance but I finally saw some mountain goats. Now, perhaps an elk??

20140812-141502-51302011.jpg
Can you spot the mountain goats??

20140812-141504-51304844.jpg

20140812-141503-51303383.jpg

20140812-141506-51306251.jpg

Leave a Reply

