Day 141: 8/27/14, Zero Day in Stehekin

The knees and feet have decreed a day off! While my original plan was to do a Nero out of town today, after the last 3 long pounding days I knew my body needed a break, and I have no desire to rush to the border and the end of my now-Section hike this year. So, a lazy lazy lazy day – I caught the bus to the Bakery for lunch, wrote out postcards which I’ve been sorely neglecting this trip, dipped my legs in beautiful Lake Chelan from the dock (I didn’t have the gumption or energy to swim back from the bakery like Contrail!), and a loooooong afternoon nap. Ahhh, bliss. Stehekin is an awesome place, so serene and peaceful, and one of my very favorite “town” stops along the trail! Well, it was peaceful and serene until the ferry tourists arrived, and they weren’t that annoying, I have to admit ;).

A note for any future PCT-ers, per the North Cascades National Park rangers, while it isn’t required that you register for a free campsite if you do a Nero out of Stehekin (no stealth camping allowed) if you have the PCTA long distance permit, they do prefer it so they can disperse camping. Once you are about 15 miles out, you’re out of the National Park, so it only applies within the park boundaries.

IMG_6791.JPG

IMG_6790.JPG

IMG_6793.JPG

IMG_6792.JPG

Leave a Reply

